2020 CAERDA Dissertation Award Call for Nominations

CAERDA provides a Dissertation Award for Chinese and Chinese Americans who have completed a quality dissertation on education or anyone who has completed a quality dissertation related to the education and teaching of Chinese all over the world.

Eligibility criteria: CAERDA members or applicants who are nominated by at least one CAERDA member are eligible. The eligibility date of completing the dissertation is traced back 3 years (April 28, 2017 ~ April 15, 2020) from the award date, which is the first day of the CAERDA Annual Conference where the award is present.

Award: One award will be granted for each annual conference. The recipient will receive a plaque commemorating the award with a 1-year complimentary membership and conference registration for 2021, and be allocated an appropriate amount of time to present the work or deliver an acceptance speech at the CAERDA Annual Conference. A \$300 scholarship will be awarded to the recipient as well.

Evaluation criteria: Each nominee's dissertation will be reviewed based on the following evaluation criteria:

- (a) Significance of the research to the field
- (b) Depth and relevance of literature review
- (c) Technical soundness and rigor of the research design and methodology
- (d) Quality of data analysis and importance of research findings
- (e) Quality of writing

Application process:

- Include at least one nomination letter provided by a faculty member, academic advisor, and/or dissertation committee member commenting on the quality of the dissertation pertaining to the five aspects (a) (e) listed above in the evaluation criteria. At least one of the nominating individuals must be an active CAERDA member.
- 2. Include one electronic copy of the dissertation being nominated.
- 3. The cover letter and the paper **must be** submitted as attachment (PDF file) to Dr. Nie Youyan at <u>youyan.nie@nie.edu.sg</u>, Award Committee Chair by **February 28, 2020**.

Award details:

Award recipients will be notified by the award committee chair via email by March 10, 2020. Questions can be directed to: Dr. Nie Youyan at <u>youyan.nie@nie.edu.sg</u>.

CAERDA 2020 Award Committee:

Nie Youyan, PhD. National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University

Lee Ai Noi, Ph.D. National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University

Chua Bee Leng, Ph.D. National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University